The Yellow Rolls-Royce (1964) Review

I’d like to start this post by wishing Ingrid a happy 101st birthday. I wish she had been here to see it; may she rest in peace. I have reviewed this film as part of ‘The Wonderful World Of Cinema”s second Ingrid Bergman Blogathon and I am happy to contribute.

A bit of background information:

I first watched Ingrid Bergman in Hitchcock’s ‘Notorious’ (1946) and I knew the instant I saw her that I wanted to see more of her work. Her accent, appearance and character is unique to her yet she holds characteristics that I also admire in other favourite old hollywood stars; the ability to cry and make it look realistic enough to make the audience feel her pain, her characters are always humorous and strong willed and she is diverse. If I had to compare her to anyone I’d say she reminds me of Garbo (both Swedish and incredibly talented).

I came across ‘The Yellow Rolls-Royce’ as a recommendation on twitter from an actress I admire in the TV show ‘Once Upon A Time’ ~ Jennifer Morrison and gave it a watch to find it is a film worth watching. I am reviewing this film as an old hollywood lover (specifically 1930s-1960s) with a particular fondness of Ingrid Bergman so you could call me biased but I do believe her story is the best (watch and decide for yourselves :)). It shall be more of an overview as it is a film worth watching more than reading about. Caps included are my own and WARNING: this review is not spoiler free.

Skip to Part III if you are only here for Ingrid exclusively.

Down to business

‘The Yellow Rolls-Royce’ features three separate stories belonging to three separate owners. The film runs for 1hr 57 minutes. The cast are as follows:

33.png

The first story we come to features Rex Harrison, Jeanne Moreau and Edmund Purdom as the main characters and it becomes obvious from the beginning where this story is heading.

The beginning features a blend of the overall soundtrack which becomes apparent when you’ve seen the film before. The first story can be summed up merely with a few pictures and quotes:

4.png
The first appearance of the Yellow Rolls-Royce

Part I

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, I believe this story is the least entertaining as the plot is too obvious and there is not much going on.

13

Part II

The second story staring Shirley Maclaine and Alain Delon is more romantic and the story involves an affair where a choice has to be made between life on the run with someone she loves or settling for life with someone who’s lifestyle she fears. The affair sees her character pay attention to the beauty of Italy with the lovely song ‘Forget Domani’ sung by Katyna Ranieri playing throughout their romance. Listen to the wholly Italian version here (the best in my opinion).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Part III (Ingrid time!)

1hr and 20 minutes in we see Ingrid’s character of Mrs Gerda Millett; a well-off, American woman with the desire to help others.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, if the increase in screenshots and introduction to this review was not enough of a hint; Ingrid’s part was my favourite. Watching her act is always satisfying. She has the ability to make me cry and laugh all whilst falling in love with her characters and her being.

I’d like to finish this overview/review with my favourite line from the film (said by no one other than Ingrid Bergman herself (as Gerda of course):

“Hearts are never broken; they just sometimes get a bit bruised, that’s all. They always, always mend”.

If you have gotten this far; thank for you reading. This film as with all of Ingrid’s work is worth a watch. Even if it is just to spend the minutes staring at her enchanting face. Thank you to Virginie for creating and letting me participate in this Blogathon. And above all thank you Ingrid for the moments you dedicated to cinema; although you are not with us you continue to inspire and fill fans lives with happiness simply by being you.

32wp-1462284754219.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “The Yellow Rolls-Royce (1964) Review

Leave a Reply

